Pick Your Pleasure in Asia

I got on a plane

to a faraway place

img_0366

exchanging promises with God through each bout of turbulence

dsc00295

to a place which sits in a remote corner of the world

dsc00925

where I walked down jungled-covered paths

DSC00717.jpg

and I found beauty hiding.

dsc00759

In this place, I tried to understand the life I was leading and the world I was living in.

I wondered how it was that I’d ever become accustomed to thinking that the designer watch strapped to my wrist, the designer handbag hanging from my arm and the designer dresses that I draped myself in mattered or that they could offer me anything other than sterility and silence.

dsc00103

I wondered why it was that I plunged vast amounts of time and energy into thinking about things that I could not and would not ever be able to control.

dsc00931

I wondered why it was that I was so focussed on ticking off all the things I felt I needed to achieve but had little time to actually stop and breathe.

dsc00751

I looked at the ocean snaking in waves in front of me and I thought about the space where real life and where real living existed.

dsc00457

And I discovered the lightening bolt that I’d been searching for.

dsc00471

In the ocean, I discarded the value in the meaningless and I pledged allegiance to all the love and beauty in the world.

dsc00844

I knew that the shiny things I’d always painted and covered myself in didn’t balance me. And I knew that the magazines I read and the pictures they teased me with could never offer me a glimpse of any reality that I wanted.

dsc00410

I didn’t want escapism in my life. Nor did I  want to dull my senses with shiny adornments.

dsc00623

I wanted a simple reality.

dsc00879

A reality that made my heart beat faster.

dsc00668

A reality which made all the joy, heartache, love, pain, beauty, living, dying, that had passed billions of times before me under these pink skies, in the wilderness of this world, worth it.

dsc00727

And in the paths I walked,

in the simple food I ate,

snorkeling to worlds remote,

and the people I met,

chatting under fiery skies,

I felt weightless.

dsc00782

I found the rhythm of life’s dance

dsc00691

where I was free to add my own love to the history of people who walked before me.

dsc00267

In the rainbow of life, I found beauty coming into being.

dsc00881

As I lie here now,

I paint these pictures in my mind’s eye,

as a trail,

and I remember it all,

with the certainty of tides,

forever.

dsc00661

 

2 thoughts on “Pick Your Pleasure in Asia

  1. Beautiful write up! Sweet Malaysia. There are tons of islands and rainforest in Malaysia that you could explore. If you want a highland then be sure to visit Cameron Highlands as its a tea plantation and its located about 5200 ft above the sea. If you are looking for an island experience then there is Pulau Tioman, Pulau Kapas, Pulau Perhentian (Besar and Kecil) and there’s Pangkor. If you’re looking for historic monuments then you can visit Malacca (formerly colonized by the Portuguese and Dutch). I’m sure you would have heard of them as i see you have gone to a number of places in Malaysia. 😀 on a side note

    We are a start up travel company and we’re currently offering cheap all inclusive packages for travelers and nomads alike who want to skip the hassle of planning. Do check out our page 🙂 http://www.qrovado.com. Probably you might find something that you like (Oh and yes don’t forget to take our quick survey) Cheers to many more adventures.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

